Art on 8th

Enjoy free music, dance, arts and crafts
in Brookland and Edgewood

Events take place Thursdays, Fridays and Saturdays from May – September 2016

Thursdays: Live Music at 6:30pm

on the Arts Walk at Monroe Street Market (716 Monroe St NE)

Hear great music including Brazilian / Bluegrass Fusion from Matuto, latin beats from the Rumba Club, jazz vocalists Natalie Jean and Denyse Pearson and many others.

Fridays: Dance Events at 6:30pm

on the Busboys & Poets Plaza (625 Monroe St NE)

Watch inspiring performances and be ready to get up on your feet. Learn Hand Dancing with Smooth & EZ, salsa with the DC Casineros (Cuban Salsa and Rueda da Casino) and others!

Saturdays: GET CREATIVE

1:30pm: workshops in arts & crafts, movement & gardening!
at Dance Place (3225 8th St NE)

Full Schedule:

MAY

Thursday, May 5: Aspen Grove (Americana with Lon Ephraim)

Friday, May 6: National Hand Dance Association (Hand Dancing)

Saturday, May 7: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, May 12: Matuto (Bluegrass / Brazilian Dance Fusion)

Friday, May 13: Coyaba Dance Theater (African Dance)

Saturday, May 14: GET CREATIVE

Third Thursday May 19: Jack Gregori & The Human Country Jukebox

PLUS Ben Pagac and Katrina Ranum instruct Texas two-step!

Friday, May 20: DC Casineros (Cuban Salsa)

Saturday, May 21: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, May 26: The Diviners (Blues, Country & Folk)

 

JUNE

Thursday, June 2: Ernesto “Gato” Gatell Y Su Banda (Cuban Rumba)

Friday, June 3: ASA! Kelenya (African Inspired Dance Fitness)

PLUS Steve Prince Gallery Opening at Brookland Artspace Lofts 7 – 8pm

Saturday, June 4: GET CREATIVE at DanceAfrica, DC 2016

Thursday, June 9: Freddie Dunn Quartet (Live Jazz)

Friday, June 10: Dance for All Generations with Carla Perlo and Shannon Quinn

Saturday, June 11: GET CREATIVE

Third Thursday June 16: Rumba Club (Rumba)

Friday, June 17: RebollarDance (Dance Improv)

Saturday, June 18: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, June 23: Polvo & Scree (Live Jazz)

Friday, June 24: Smooth & EZ (Hand Dancing)

Saturday, June 25: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, June 30: Herb Scott Quartet (Live Jazz)

 

JULY

Saturday, July 2: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, July 7: Duende Quartet (Latin Jazz)

Friday, July 8: People, Objects, Play (Movement Improv)

Saturday, July 9: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, July 14: Natalie Jean (Jazz / Blues Vocalist)

Friday, July 15: DC Casineros (Cuban Salsa)

Saturday, July 16: GET CREATIVE

Third Thursday July 21: Denyse Pearson (Jazz / Soul Vocalist)

Friday, July 22: Kitchen Sink Fest (Performance Preview)

Saturday, July 23: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, July 28: Herb Scott Quartet (Live Jazz)

Friday, July 29: National Hand Dance Association (Hand Dancing)

Saturday, July 30: GET CREATIVE

 

AUGUST

Thursday, August 4: Aspen Grove (Americana with Lon Ephraim)

Friday, August 5: TICKS presents (Multi-media performance)

Saturday, August 6: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, August 11: Freddie Dunn Quartet (Jazz)

Friday, August 12: Balance Harmony: (Movement & Dance)

Saturday, August 13: GET CREATIVE

Third Thursday August 18 The Ramparts (New Orleans-style Jazz & Pop-rock)

Saturday, August 20: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, August 25: Duende Quartet (Latin Jazz)

Saturday, August 27: GET CREATIVE

 

SEPTEMBER

Thursday, September 1: Pop Rox (Dance Pop)

Saturday, September 3: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, September 8: L’Impérial Kikiristan (Brass Band and Satire from France)

Friday, September 9: L’Impérial Kikiristan (Brass Band and Satire from France)

Saturday, September 10: GET CREATIVE

Third Thursday September 15: Ayanna Gregory (Jazz Vocalist)

Friday, September 16: What’s Going On (Performance Preview)

Saturday, September 17: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, September 22: Polvo & Scree (Jazz and Vocals)

Friday, September 23: Capoeira DC (Brazilian Martial Arts)

Saturday, September 24: GET CREATIVE

Thursday, September 29: Sarmust (Indie Rock)

Friday, September 30: DC Casineros (Cuban Salsa)

Saturday, September 31: GET CREATIVE

 

Art on 8th is supported by Monroe Street Market, the Kresge Foundation and Long & Foster Brookland Sales with additional support from Busboys & Poets.

We look forward to seeing you!

About Art on 8th